Branford Gun Lawyer 

The second Amendment protects every American citizens’ right to own a gun. However, every state has the authority to create laws on regulating the use and licensing of guns within the state. Before purchasing a gun, speaking with a qualified Connecticut firearm attorney can help make sure that you are following all state regulations so that you do not inadvertently commit a mistake in your gun ownership.

Although Connecticut as a whole has lower gun rates, the gun murder rate has gone up from 1.3 out of 100,000 in 2005 to 2.6 per 100,000. At the same time, the amount of background checks requested for gun ownership has gone up to 237,496 since 2012 which is the highest the state has had in fifteen years.

Outside of gun ownership, crimes involving a gun generally have higher sentences and consequences. So, if you have been accused of a crime where it specifically mentions the use of a firearm, you will want to get the advice of a Branford gun lawyer so that you know the penalties you may be facing.

Connecticut Gun Laws

In Branford, anyone over 21 who wants a gun must file a pistol permit application. With the application, there will be an FBI fingerprint background check and a state criminal background check. Connecticut has specific laws regarding machine guns and other assault rifles. A Branford gun lawyer will be knowledgeable about the different existing gun laws, and can guide people through the gun permit application process.

For machine guns, it will be presumed that the use is for violent purposes if the person who owns the gun does not have it at their own premises, anyone who has a previous violent conviction, owned by an unnaturalized foreign person, an unregistered machine gun or any empty shells are found nearby. Depending on the type of firearm, if it is used during an assault then it can lead to a sentence of five to eight years that cannot be reduced or waived.

Possessing a firearm on school grounds or at a school activity when you have no authority to do so is a class D felony. Having a firearm unlawfully is a class C felony. Anyone that was convicted of a felony, a serious juvenile offense, was discharged from custody twenty years ago because they were unable to be found guilty due to a mental defect. There are also other limitations on gun ownership based on mental illness and hospitalizations in a mental health facility.

Criminal Hunting Laws

If you own a gun for hunting purposes you should be aware that negligent hunting is a crime of its own. Negligent hunting in the first degree is a class D felony and occurs when a person discharges a weapon during hunting that kills another person.

Negligent hunting in the second-degree is a class A misdemeanor with a minimum of a $400 fine. A person will be charged with this crime when they use a weapon during hunting that seriously harms another person.

Negligent hunting in the third-degree is when a person that is hunting fires a firearm during a time that hunting is not allowed, discharges a weapon from a vehicle, hunts out of season or on a Sunday, hunts with a suspended hunting license, or shoots at a building with people or livestock in it.

Finally, negligent hunting in the fourth-degree is when a person hunts without a proper license, has a loaded hunting weapon when hunting is not allowed, discharges a weapon within 250 feet of a building that has people or animals in it, or hunts from across a public highway.

Working with a Branford Gun Attorney

It is important to protect your Second Amendment rights. It is also important that if you do decide to own and carry a firearm, you do so responsibly. Gun laws exist in order to protect the safety of gun owners and the people around them. By breaking these laws, you endanger others and risk losing your own gun rights. If you or a loved one are facing any type of gun charge, be sure to consult with a Branford gun lawyer. A skilled firearm attorney can examine all the aspects of your case and advise you of all your legal options going forward.