Milford Assault Lawyer
As a protection to the general public, Connecticut has very strict assault laws. If you find yourself facing assault charges in the Milford area, it is important to consult an experienced Milford assault attorney as soon as possible. Your criminal defense lawyer can explain what type of assault you are being charged with and the severity of the associated penalties. En Español.
Types of Assault Charges in Connecticut
There are three main types of assault charges that a person may face in Connecticut, and the severity of the charges depend on several factors including whether the alleged victim was injured – and if so, how badly, whether a deadly weapon was used, and whether the accused intended to cause the victim harm. These three types of assault all of which warrant contact with an assault lawyer in Milford include:
First Degree Assault
First-degree assault under Connecticut law, a Class B felony, is considered the most serious type of assault charge. It carries fines up to $15,000 and a penalty of up to 20 years in prison with a mandatory minimum of five years.
Milford prosecutors typically bring first-degree assault charges in cases where the victim was seriously injured and the defendant used a deadly weapon.
In these cases, the accused intended to cause serious injury, a firearm was used, two or more people participated in the alleged assault, or the defendant reasonably should have known that the reckless behavior could have caused death.
Second Degree Assault
Second-degree assault under Connecticut law is also considered a felony. However, as a Class D felony the penalties are less severe: up to $5,000 in fines and between one to five years served in prison.
These assault charges are typically brought when the victim was seriously injured or the defendant intended to seriously injure the victim using a weapon besides a firearm. Second-degree assault is also charged in cases where the victim was drugged, which creates nuances in the case that a Milford assault lawyer will be prepared to address.
Third Degree Assault
Third-degree assault is considered a Class A misdemeanor charge in Connecticut, though the penalties associated with misdemeanor assault still can be harsh, including up to one year in jail and $2,000 in fines.
Third-degree assault charges may be brought in Milford when the victim was injured, but not seriously, or when the defendant recklessly caused serious physical injury, or negligently handled a deadly weapon, causing any physical injury.
Milford Assault Defenses
There are several defenses available to address assault charges, so it is important to begin working with a knowledgeable criminal defense attorney right away. A Milford assault lawyer can begin investigating the circumstances that led to the assault charges and what defenses may apply, such as self-defense or consent from the victim.
Consult an Experienced Assault Attorney
It can be confusing to assess what charges may be appropriate when an incident or altercation leads to a physical injury of one of the parties involved. Even so, your experienced Milford assault attorney can help you.
No matter the circumstances that brought about the charges you are facing, you will need to put forth the strongest defense possible. Your can fight to clear your name or have the charges reduced.