Milford DUI Lawyer
A DUI, or OUI (operating a vehicle under the influence) as it is called in Connecticut, refers to driving impaired by the use of alcohol or drugs. In Milford, a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of 0.08 percent is considered legally intoxicated for drivers over 21. Drivers younger than 21 can automatically be charged with DUI if they possess a BAC of 0.02 percent or higher. However, even without BAC testing, a driver may still be charged with a DUI depending on if the arresting officer believes the driver is impaired at the time of the traffic stop.
For this reason, if a person has been charged with driving under the influence in Milford, it is a very important for them to consult with a Milford DUI lawyer as soon as possible. An experienced defense attorney in Milford can understand that not every driver accused of DUI has actually broken the law, and that things like faulty breathalyzer equipment and improperly performed field sobriety tests can bring about unfair DUI charges. They can, therefore, use their local experience to prepare a robust defense for a person in an effort to minimize, or dismiss, the charges against them.
The arresting officer makes the judgment call during the traffic stop process on whether a driver is intoxicated or impaired based on field sobriety testing and other subjective measures of assessing impairment. These assessments can include taking into account the driver’s physical condition, display of emotions, slurred speech, the smell of alcohol or drugs in the vehicle, and the behavior of the passengers in the vehicle.
While most police officers are committed to enforcing DUI laws and keeping the roadways in and around Milford safe for all drivers and their passengers, the subjective perceptions of what behaviors may indicate intoxication can vary a great deal and are not the most reliable way of assessing possible intoxication, and breathalyzer tests are not foolproof.
Regardless of the reason for the DUI charges against a driver, a DUI lawyer in Milford can look into the strength of the evidence against them and whether any mistakes were made along the way.
Connecticut DUI penalties grow increasingly harsher with each subsequent offense. A first-time conviction for DUI is punishable by up to six months in jail and $1,000 in fines and can impact a person’s driver’s license. A second offense is punishable by up to two years in jail and $4,000 in fines. A third offense carries a penalty of up to three years in jail and $8,000 in fines. A subsequent offense within 10 years of an earlier DUI conviction may be considered a felony.
The Department of Motor Vehicles also imposes its own penalties, including license suspension following a conviction for DUI and a required ignition interlock device, even for first-time offenders. License suspension is typically 45 days for first and second offenses and jumps to a mandatory two-year revocation with a third offense making it important a Milford DUI attorney is contacted to assist in mitigated the associated penalties.
Consulting With A Milford DUI Attorney
Whether a DUI is a first-time offense or subsequent charge, a DUI attorney in Milford can fight to have the penalties against the defendant reduced or dismissed, and the defendant may even be eligible to perform community service rather than serve jail time.
The earlier on in a case that a person facing DUI charges in Milford contact a Milford DUI attorney, the more time and opportunities the attorney can have to prepare their case. They can thoroughly investigate the evidence and the case as a whole to determine how to prepare the strongest defense possible.