Milford DUI Penalties
Milford DUI penalties can be harsh, and if you have been charged with a DUI, you need experienced legal representation on your side every step of the way.
Connecticut DUI’s may be classified as either felonies or misdemeanors, depending on the facts and circumstances of the case. In most cases, Connecticut DUI’s are misdemeanors – most especially when the case involves a first-time offense.
However, if you have sustained a prior DUI conviction in the past 10 years, the second or subsequent DUI conviction will most likely be treated as a felony offense. Generally speaking, felonies have higher penalties associated with them upon conviction.
A skilled Milford DUI defense lawyer can meet with you to discuss the facts and circumstances of your case and can assist you with formulating potential legal defenses to your DUI charge. A lawyer will also be able to explain to you the potential penalties associated with your charge and may be able to help you obtain a charge reduction or plea bargain with the prosecution.
Legal BAC Limit
In general, the higher the defendant’s blood alcohol content (BAC), the higher the potential penalties associated with the offense. Under the current version of the Connecticut DUI statute, the legal alcohol limit is .08. In order words, in the state of Connecticut, operating a motor vehicle while under the influence with a BAC of .08 or higher is “per se” illegal (i.e. illegal “on its face”).
A high BAC of .16 or above is considered a much more serious offense, and a conviction will result in even higher penalties than would be imposed in a run-of-the mill DUI case.
A defendant may also face additional penalties for failing to take a breathalyzer test or for failing to take a chemical BAC test upon request. Harsh Milford DUI penalties also apply to individuals under the age of 21 who are operating a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol.
Participation in an Alcohol Education Program (AEP)
In lieu of a criminal conviction, a defendant may be offered the opportunity to participate in an Alcohol Education Program, or AEP. If a defendant qualifies for and completes the program, the drunk driving charge will be dismissed.
In order to qualify, the defendant must be a first-time DUI offender. The cost of the program is $200.00, and these charges increase depending upon the program attended. If the defendant fails to complete an AEP, and upon conviction of the drunk driving charge, Mildford DUI penalties may include one or more of the following:
- Suspension or revocation of license
- Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device on the vehicle
License Suspensions and Revocations
If a defendant is caught driving with a suspended license, the charge is considered a new offense. As a result, the defendant may face fines and/or jail time, separate and apart from those associated with the pending DUI case.
Fines typically range from $500 to $1,000, along with a period of incarceration lasting 30 days or more. The amount of potential jail time depends upon the defendant’s prior history of DUI convictions if any.
Ignition Interlock Device
If a defendant’s license is suspended for a second DUI conviction, the defendant may be able to obtain the license back by installing an ignition interlock device (IID) on the vehicle, after serving one year of the required license suspension. An IID measures a sample of the driver’s breath in order for the vehicle to start. If the driver’s alcohol limit exceeds the device’s pre-set startup limit, the vehicle will not start.
Contacting a Milford DUI Lawyer
Milford DUI penalties are harsh and self-representation is usually not a good option. By working with an experienced lawyer, you are ensuring that you have a better chance at receiving a positive outcome in your DUI case. Contact a Milford DUI defense lawyer at any time, and rest assured that you are in capable hands.