New Haven Unlicensed Driving Lawyer
Unlicensed driving in New Haven takes place when a person is caught driving without a license. In these cases, the person will be charged with driving without a license which can range from an infraction to a criminal offense depending on the number of prior arrests that the individual has.
Anyone facing license penalties should speak with a distinguished traffic lawyer. A New Haven unlicensed driving lawyer can help clarify how local New Haven license suspension laws may affect the outcome of their case.
Unlicensed Driving vs. Driving Without a License
In New Haven and throughout Connecticut, if someone is arrested or is caught driving when their license is suspended, they will be charged with operating under suspension. This is a criminal offense and the maximum penalty depends upon the number of prior convictions an individual has. They can range from 90 days up to a year. Additionally, this offense often comes up in connections with a DUI thereby making it even more important that a New Haven unlicensed driving attorney is contacted.
Common Cause of License Suspension
There are a number of reasons for New Haven license suspensions. The penalties can range from fines to incarceration. Driving without a license can certainly be a serious offense; particularly when a person has numerous previous convictions.
Typically, someone’s license is suspended because they have received too many points as a result of speeding tickets or other motor vehicle infractions. If the person receives too many points, the DMV will suspend the person’s license. Another way, a person may have their license suspended is if they plead guilty to an offense that triggers an automatic license suspension.
If someone pleads guilty to various motor vehicle infractions or other criminal offenses at court, their license will automatically be suspended at the DMV. If someone pleads guilty to a DUI or reckless driving or evading responsibility, the Connecticut DMV will suspend the person’s license as a result of that conviction.
Suspension By DUI
It is very important to know that an individual whose license is revoked as a result of a DUI and is caught driving, they will be charged with a violation of Connecticut general statute 14-215c. This is important to know because it carries a mandatory 30 days in jail. Those are the most common reasons why an individual’s license is suspended and why they ultimately if they are caught driving with the suspended license can be charged with operating under suspension.
There are a number of reasons for New Haven license suspensions in connection with the DUI. Any DUI case has two components; the first is the DMV. The DMV will have the per se hearing. At the per se hearing, the DMV will attempt to suspend an individual’s license. If the DMV meets its burden at that hearing, the individual’s license will be suspended.
This is very important to know, as a New Haven unlicensed driving lawyer can explain, because as a result of the suspension if the person is caught driving, the individual will face a mandatory 30 days in jail for a violation of Connecticut general statute 14-215c. In addition to the per se hearing, an individual’s license will also be suspended in the event they ultimately plead guilty in court. Therefore, there are two ways in which an individual’s license can be suspended due to both the hearing at the DMV as well as a conviction in court.
License Suspension for Failure to Pay Fines
In the event, a court imposes fines and the fines are not paid by an individual, the clerk’s office will issue the 14-140 close out. It is not a failure to appear in terms of a criminal sentence because the case has been resolved. Instead, it means that the fines or other court requirements have not been satisfied and the case gets closed out under what is called 14-140. The case is then referred to the DMV and they cannot issue New Haven license suspensions but it is possible to have a suspended license as a result of the failure to pay fines or other court associated fees.